Trusting your staff is hard.

I’ve built this company from the ground up, nurtured it by putting in thousands of hours of work.

Now I’m about to hand over part of my responsibility to somebody and trust they’ll run it well. I know they’ll never love the company like I do. Why should they? It’s not their baby.

I have to trust that I’ve made the right choice. That I’ve chosen a candidate who will really give it their all and help me to grow this company and look to the future.

I find it hard to trust people, I’m not sure if its because I’ve been burned in the past, because I’m too protective of my company or a mix of both?

Today I messed up. I chose to not trust somebody that I should have. Somebody who I have trusted for the past six months. They’re leaving the company and somewhere in my brain I decided that makes them untrustworthy when really that’s not the case at all. They’re leaving the company because it’s time to move onto something new, nothing to do with screwing me over or damaging my business. Yet, that’s where my decision-making process took me to. I was defensive, over protective and I fear I have damaged a professional relationship with a colleague and friend.

Trust is hard but sometimes you should take a leap of faith. It’s easier not to trust somebody but being closed off won’t help you succeed.

Leave a Reply

